Share Your World

Sharing My World – Week 31

DSC01173

It’s August already, can you believe it? I’ve been feeling conflicted ever since I changed the calendar and realized that we’re in the 8th month of the year.

On the one hand, I’m always glad July is over, as July is my least favorite month. Although our weather was very pleasant for July, July makes me feel unsettled. It is the month in which bad things happen, when family members die or have injuries. Just over the past few Julys, my husband had a heart attack, Daniel cracked his elbow, my dad was in the hospital for kidney failure, and someone my mom loved very much was murdered. July is a cruel month. When Daniel injured his eye, a part of me was relieved that it wasn’t anything worse!

On the other hand, I’m a bit horrified that it’s August already because I haven’t achieved any of my goals for this year, even the simple ones like purging all the polyester socks from my sock drawer (when did they start sneaking that fake, nasty stuff into socks?) or writing a blog post about one of my health conditions. Eight months into the year, I still haven’t gotten my mind, schedule, sock drawer or pantry organized. I’m not going to beat myself up over it though. It’s obvious that something is out of whack because my fibromyalgia has been much worse and I’ve been battling migraines since March.

I do hope you will all will forgive my inconsistency with replying to comments and my sporadic reading of your blogs. My brain is a disorganized mess!

Anyway, I’ve rambled on for too long already so I’m going to answer Cee’s Share Your World questions before I go over my self-imposed word count of 500 words.

What is your favorite part of the town/city you live in? And what country do you live in? The thing I love about my neighborhood is the generous greenbelts scattered throughout the older sections. Some of them are quite wide and many have trails through them so I get to feel like I’m walking in the forest every morning. And, of course, the greenbelts provide food and shelter for my adorable little friends.

DSC01043

Would you rather wear clown shoes every day or a clown wig every day? I’m going to say clown shoes because what I remember about wigs is that they are hot and itchy. Of course, it’s been a long time since I had one on.

scan0005
Me in my mom’s wig with my first dog, Sally, in the mid 70’s.

Which way does the toilet paper roll go? Over or under? If it makes it on the holder at all, it goes over. I’m a neat freak, but an inconsistent, disorganized one. Often the toilet paper just sits on the counter or the edge of the downstairs bathtub. But if someone happened to put it on under (it’s not likely that any of my boys would make the effort), it would bug me and I would have to fix it!

What do you do to make a living or during the day? I’m still a stay-at-home mom, even though my kids are now 20 and 16. With the pain and fatigue from my fibromyalgia, I couldn’t hold down a job and take care of things at home. I spend most of my time taking care of my pets, cleaning, cooking and buying stuff we’re out of. Most days, I have time for my hobbies – photography, blogging, journaling and reading – but I often lack the energy and focus. And my pets keep me busy. This kitty alone creates major messes on a daily basis.

 

DSC01153

Don’t let his sweet, innocent looks fool you. He’s very naughty!

What are you grateful for from last week and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? Last week I was grateful that Daniel got his vision back, aside from the fogginess from the cataract. This week, I’m looking forward to a break from having to run Daniel to appointments. I don’t have to go anywhere for the next four days and it feels so good. I’m happiest when I don’t have to go anywhere.

701 words. Not too bad for feeling so unfocused!

12 thoughts on “Sharing My World – Week 31

  1. I love the top photo with the sun illuminating the fallen leaf!

    When I saw it was August first the other day I posted on Facebook, “Holy crap, it’s August! Where did June and July go?”

    We finally have liveable summer weatherwise and it’s speeding by like a bullet train and I feel like I’m missing it. Why can’t the horribly hot ones go this fast?

    1. I was thinking the same thing! Usually, this time of year I’m griping about how slow the summer is going. This wonderfully pleasant summer is just going by too fast! It looks like we have some hot weather coming up at the end of the next week so maybe that will make us feel better about how fast it’s going. 🙂

  2. Being a Fibromyalgia sufferer (amongst other debilitating health conditions) I’d say shorten the ‘to do’ list and don’t feel guilty about the things you haven’t done. Just concentrate on the things that you can do (be they chore or pleasure).

    Lovely photo of the leaf at the top.

    I used to feel guilty not replying to comments or viewing every single post of every blog I follow, but now I don’t. I have blog free days and sometimes, just press the ‘like’ comment button to let commenters know I have read their words. Personally, I don’t mind if someone doesn’t press the like button or comments. I did turn the comment button off one day so my regular commenters wouldn’t feel obliged to comment and I wouldn’t feel I had to answer (especially when I feel unwell), but someone emailed me and told me they couldn’t comment any more and wanted to, so I turned it back on 🙂

    When you have chronic pain, fatigue & intermittent brain fog, best to just ‘go with the flow’ and takes life one day at a time.

    While you are waiting for Fall (or Autumn as we call it), I am waiting for Spring.

    Very pleased to hear Daniel got his vision back. That’s one thing none of us would like to lose, let alone someone so young.

    1. I’m really good at going with the flow! I need to balance it a little with some time to focus on the few meager goals I had for the year. I would feel such a weight off my shoulders if I could finish the last few assignments of the herbal course I started two and half years ago.

  3. I’m so glad that Daniel’s vision is back! Sorry to hear that your fibromyalgia has been so bad, and about the migraines though. 😦 Lovely pictures, as always. Enjoy your four days of not having to go anywhere, I hope Frosty keeps his messes to a minimum so you can enjoy them even more. 😉 ❤

    1. My husband and I are just about at our wit’s end with Frosty and with Scooby’s nightly vomiting. Having to face that kind of thing right away makes me not want to get out of bed in the morning! I hope you are doing well. Have a wonderful weekend!

  4. I’m glad my scattered state of mind didn’t come through in my writing. It sure did in my actions though. I kept walking into a room and asking myself, “what am I doing in here?” Luckily, no one was around to see it!

Leave a Reply

