rambling

Friday Ramble

dsc01581
My squirrel friends provided a major bright spot in my life this week!

We had very lovely weather this week, sunny and in the low 70 to mid-70’s, but it was a difficult week in many ways. It was the first full week of school for Daniel and the first full week of having to get up at 6:00 a.m. for me. My alarm is going off just an hour earlier than it did in the summer but it’s been rough. I’ve been extra tired and achy all week. I’m realizing that I’m very sensitive to changes in my sleep schedule, which finally explains my tendency to have brain fog on Fridays and Saturdays because I tend to stay up a little later on Thursday and Friday nights and sleep in an hour or two on Saturday. That will be a hard habit for me to break because it feels so good to not have to get up early.

There are things I like about being up early though. I like to watch the sky get brighter and brighter as the sun rises. I like having plenty of time to hang out with Scooby and eat breakfast before having to take Smarty out for his walk. I like sitting down with my journal and my coffee by 8:00 a.m.

01661f659c24044bdaa7b9f350a390ec7d5ff00c29

Because of my tendency to avoid other people and not talk much in the morning, some people might get the impression that I’m not a morning person. Actually, I love morning, I just don’t like people in the morning. I like stillness and quiet for the first few hours of the day. And coffee. In peace. With no blabbering. And definitely no TV.

I really enjoyed watching the squirrels this week. They’ve gone into what I call trick-or-treat mode where they’re constantly outside my door or peaking in my windows because they want me to hand out peanuts. If I’m not there and the door happens to be open, they just come in to help themselves, even if there’s a cat sleeping in the doorway. Yesterday, I went downstairs for a few minutes and, when I came back up, there were two squirrels wandering around the dining room. They had to walk within inches of Trouble to get back out but it didn’t seem to bother them a bit, they just waited outside the door for me to hand out the treats.

I also enjoyed the birds this week. My bird bath was a popular hangout, with Juncos and Robins taking turns in it and once a Northern Flicker sat on the ground watching a Robin bathe. Unfortunately, my bird bath is just a little too far away and has too many dark shadows on it to get good photos.

dsc01425-001

dsc01572

Seeing these photos reminds me that I’d better get out to pick up that garden mat before the rain comes in. We’re supposed to get rain tomorrow.  Actual, measurable rain. It’s a shame it’s coming just in time for the weekend but I’m grateful for it anyway. The hydrangeas are looking very dehydrated again and I don’t want to have to water them.  Don joked that they should be called de-hydrangeas and I think it’s a very fitting name!

I wish you all a fantastic weekend. 🙂

12 thoughts on “Friday Ramble

  1. This reminds me of what my Mom always said when me or my sisters would want something to eat at some strange time of the day…. “What does this look like, an IHOP?” Your squirrels must consider your place to be their own personal International House of Peanuts! With Trouble as the maitre ‘d (However you spell that!)…

    1. LOL! The International House of Peanuts – I love it! The honor of being maître ‘d is just one more thing for Trouble and Scooby to fight over. I think the squirrels would accept them as maître ‘d, as well. They often walk up to the cats like they think they might have some peanuts on them somewhere.

Leave a Reply

